Meeting Minutes: Committee on Business Administration, Management, & Economics

February 18-19, 1999 The King and Prince St. Simons Island, Georgia

The Committee met on February 18-19 at The King and Prince in St. Simons Island, Georgia.

Members attending included: Wayne Yesbick, Chair, Darton College; Michael Quinn, Waycross College; Jeff Gibbs, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College; Clyde Conine, Macon State College; Yassaman Saadatmand, Armstrong Atlantic State University; Carolyn Conley-Gregg, Atlanta Metropolitan College; Kathleen Simmons, Gainesville College; Phil Smith, Georgia Perimeter College; Neal McKenzie, Dalton State College; Robert Johnson, Columbus State University; Linda Hadley, Columbus State University; David Hovey, State University of West Georgia; Carl Gooding, Georgia Southern University; Bob Gatewood, University of Georgia; Craig Shane, University of Georgia; David Morgan, Georgia Board of Regents; Allen Slavens, Medical College of Georgia; Jim King, Middle Georgia College; Bruce Jones, Floyd College; Bud Miller, Clayton College and State University; Ken Stanley, Valdosta State University; Bob Yancy, Southern Polytechnic State University; Abiodun Ojendkinde, Albany State University; Jehad Yasin, Fort Valley State University; Steve Payne, Georgia College and State University; Jo Ann Jones, Georgia College and University; Don Mathews, Coastal Georgia Community College; Ric Calhoun, Gordon College; David Gribbin, East Georgia College; J.K. Widener, Augusta State University; Tim Mescon, Kennesaw State University; Myk Garn, OIIT.

Chair Wayne Yesbick opened the meeting and introduced the program.

David Morgan, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Board of Regents, presented a report and update on areas of major interest to the BOR for 1999. He also discussed enrollment projections for the fall of 1999 and developments in the area of technology.p Wayne Yesbick raised the issue of Area F guidelines. Some of the advisory committee members were not sure whether the computer course was required or could be chosen as an elective in Area F. In order to provide maximum flexibility to each institution, it was determined the computer course could be required or listed as an elective depending upon the needs of each instituton.

An update on past grants and those for the coming year was presented by Mr. Yesbick. The discussion included the one for bench marking, funded for \$3,000, the application for the Student Leadership grant, which was not funded. and the Global Partnership.

Stephen Payne provided an update on the "Bench Marking Project." He reviewed the work of the previous year and asked which schools would be interested in participating in the second year. It was suggested that those schools participating in the second year contribute \$200 toward the cost of the project since the approved funding was \$1100 under what was requested.

Jehad Yasin, Fort Valley State University, made a presentation of an Entrepreneurial Program and distributed a

description of the Ball State University program.

Myk Garn, OIIT, made a presentation of WEB degrees and courses and a extensive discussion followed, which included their need, quality, strategies and policies, and resources required. The discussion also included business and international models. A number of examples were reviewed.

On the 19th, the four and two year college members met with their respective delegates, and a summary report was presented to the combined audience. Carl Gooding reported that the four year college group discussed bench marking, student advisement centers, summer classes and enrollment, and the math requirements, with emphasis on calculus and how it is being handled by individual colleges. Wayne Yesbick presented the two year college report in which representatives discussed math requirements, transferability of courses, work load, and computer certification.

Wayne Yesbick discussed the issue of a technology fee to help support the needed investment in the area of technology. A motion was presented, seconded and passed unanimously to support a student technology fee for both two and four year colleges.

The Academic Advisory Committee voted to have one meeting at the same time the following year, February 17-18, 2000, and location.

Kathleen Simmons was elected chair for 2000-2001. Robert Johnson was elected chair for 1999-2000.

Respectfully submitted.

Robert S. Johnson

©2009 Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia

270 Washington Street, S.W., Atlanta, GA 30334 U.S.A.

Content Source: Academic Affairs