Meeting Minutes: Committee on Business Administration, Management, & Economics

May 7 and 8, 1998 Georgia College and State University Milledgeville, Georgia

The Committee met on May 7-8 at Georgia College & State University in Milledgeville, Georgia.

Members attending included: Jo Ann Jones, Chair, Georgia College & State University; Jeff Gibbs, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College; Mollie Brown, Albany State University; Rick McGrath, Armstrong Atlantic State University; Carolyn Conley, Atlanta Metropolitan College; Charles W. Holmes, Bainbridge College; Ernest W. "Bud" Miller, Clayton College & State University; John Sterrett, Coastal Georgia College; Robert Johnson, Columbus State University; Neal McKenzie, Dalton College; Wayne Yesbick, Darton College; Phil Smith, DeKalb College; Bruce Jones, Floyd College; Jehad Yasin, Fort Valley State University; Kathleen C. Simmons, Gainesville College; David Morgan, Georgia Board of Regents; Linda Bleicken, Georgia Southern University; Carl Gooding, Georgia Southern University; Mimi Ford, Georgia Southwestern State University; Tim Mescon, Kennesaw State University; J. Dewel Lawrence, Macon State College; James P. King, Middle Georgia College; Lawrence Dennis, North Georgia College & State University; Gerald Skelly, North Georgia College & State University; Jan Jankowski, Savannah State University; Yuna Chen, South Georgia College; Linda Smith, South Georgia College; Darlene Martin, Southern Polytechnic State University; John Wells, State University of West Georgia; Betsy Barth, University of Georgia; and Kenneth Stanley, Valdosta State University.

Rosemary DePaolo, President of Georgia College & State University, spoke on "Becoming the Liberal Arts University of Georgia."

David Morgan, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Board of Regents, presented a report on several issues in the University System. It was noted that all the complexities of converting to the semester system have not been resolved. Nevertheless, much progress has been made and every effort is being made to make the transition as painless as possible for the students.

Steven Payne provided a report titled "Update on the Bench Marking Project." Through seed monies from the University System, several colleges worked collaboratively to improve outcomes and assessment. The Committee believes the project is valuable and should continue. The project was considered to be more valuable to the four-year institutions than the two-year institutions. In the future the four-year institutions will continue to work on the bench marking project. Since the bench marking project is expanding to additional colleges, it was suggested that this extension/collaboration be used to apply for additional funds from the University System of Georgia. Several colleges should receive a benefit from this project.

The Committee discussed the core requirements that are in place at the various institutions. There were a number of differences in the Area F requirements among the colleges.

Jim Wolfgang, Assistant Vice President of Georgia College & State University, presented "From Ship to Shore -DL on the Move." It is noteworthy to mention the enthusiasm and appreciation for the project that the distance learners displayed.

An innovative VisionQuest software package was used to elicit input from attendees. Participants were placed in two-or four-year subgroups and topics were presented for discussion. The groups then merged and discussed topics of mutual interest.

Jeff Gibbs volunteered to activate the list-serv for the Committee again. Through the list-serv, innovative happenings at various institutions could be highlighted. A survey of fellow institutions could be conducted quickly online, too. In essence, issues facing each college could be better shared and addressed, and improved collaboration could be achieved. Individuals must use the list-serv if these benefits are to be realized.

It was decided the four-year colleges will meet in the fall and the spring. The two-year colleges will meet in the spring at a joint session of two- and four-year colleges. If the need arises, the two-year colleges will meet in the fall. The spring meeting will be held at St. Simons Island, Georgia.

Robert Thompson of Columbus State University was elected chair for 1999-2000. Wayne Yesbick of Darton College was elected chair for 1998-1999.

Respectfully submitted,

Wayne Yesbick

©2009 Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia

270 Washington Street, S.W., Atlanta, GA 30334 U.S.A.

Content Source: Academic Affairs